Vertical Magazine
SUBSCRIBE NOW TO VERTICAL/VERTICAL 911
The MagazinesVertical OnlineNewsForumsHeli-TraderMarketplacePhotosEventsWeatherShop

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Warning For Scam Buying Used Equipment
Helifix2
post Jun 12 2007, 03:10 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 14-August 06
From: Edmonton, AB
Member No.: 2,206



I recently listed an advertisement at barnstormers for a bambi bucket for sale. I was contacted via email from the USA by a potential customer. The scam is that they will send you a cheque with a higher amount then the item costs and then ask you to send a cheque to a different place with the difference. The cheque you receive is no good and bounces after about a month. Key indicators are a hand written envelope the cheque comes in, no company name and they do not tell you where to ship the product. They tell you a shipping agent will pick up the product. Another key indicator is very poor English in the email. They target aviation or high end industry because it usually deals with high amounts of money and larger companies will not find out about bounced cheque until up to 45 days later.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stephen1547
post Jun 12 2007, 05:30 PM
Post #2


Member
**

Group: Member
Posts: 46
Joined: 26-May 06
Member No.: 2,081



This scam has been going on for a long time in every industry. Basically if anyone offers you more money then your asking price, and then requests that you send them a cheque or money transfer for the difference, it's guaranteed to be a scam. Sometimes they will even tell you that you can keep a bit of the extra cash for "your troubles". Run away.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xrkyle
post Jun 12 2007, 06:59 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Advanced Member
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-December 06
Member No.: 2,573



QUOTE (Stephen1547 @ Jun 12 2007, 03:30 PM) *
Run away.


I disagree, it's more fun and gratifying to (rhymes with puck) with their heads (IMG:http://www.verticalmag.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

http://www.419eater.com/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Time is now: Feb 9 2010, 05:37 AM
 
Home   Set as Homepage    Add to Favorites    Archive © 2009 MHM Publishing Inc. - All Rights Reserved   Terms of Use - Privacy Policy